Mentoring Programme for New Academic Writers

Learn from the Editors of Australian Feminist Studies

Deadline: Check back here for announcements of future rounds

In 2015 the editors of Australian Feminist Studies started a mentoring programme. Continuing with this programme, we are accepting applicants to work with us across the next year to develop a manuscript based on original research for publication in the journal. At the conclusion of the mentoring period, the manuscript will be subject to the regular peer-review process. The scheme will operate on a competitive basis.

Eligibility: applicants can be from any national domain and can be between the 3rd year of doctoral enrolment and three years beyond the award of their PhD. There is no preferred discipline or topic area.

Application process: applicants should supply a one page CV, the names of two academic referees, a 400 word abstract for a planned article, and a writing sample (this can be in the form of 10pp thesis sample, a draft of the proposed article, or a previous publication). Applications should be emailed to [email protected].

Selection process: the successful applicants will be selected by the editors based on the quality and originality of the proposed article, the quality of the writing sample and the suitability of the topic for publication in Australian Feminist Studies.

Deadline: Check back here for announcements of future rounds

Note: applicants should familiarise themselves with the journal’s Aims and Scope.

Current and Past Participants

2022 Mentoring Programme Participants:
Kath Kenny, Macquarie University
Josh Szymanski, University of Queensland
Saartje Tack, VU Amsterdam
Jianni Tien, University of Technology Sydney

2019 alumni:
Alexa Appel, University of Sydney
Meg Brayshaw, University of Sydney
Ruth Daly, University of Leeds
Jan Filmer, University of Sydney
Thao Phan, University of Melbourne

2017/2018 alumni:
Amanda Gardiner, Edith Cowan University
Lenka Vrablikova, University of Leeds

2016 alumni:
Jacqueline Dalziell, UNSW
Yanbing Er, University of Edinburgh
Jennifer Hamilton, University of Sydney
Akane Kanai, University of Newcastle
Liu Xin, University of Tampere
Elspeth Mitchell, University of Leeds

2015 alumni:
Jeannine Baker, Macquarie University
Isobelle Barrett, Meyering UNSW
Hannah McCann, ANU
Tiffany Page, Goldsmiths, University of London
Georgina Ramsay, University of Newcastle
Cathy Smith, University of Newcastle

Lisa Adkins and Maryanne Dever, Editors-in-Chief