We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Each year STAM issues a Best Paper Award and a Best Contribution Award.

  • The Best Paper Award is selected based on its impact on scientific researchband appeal to a broad audience in the last two years.
  • The Best Contribution Award acknowledges the recent activity in improving STAM such as publishing articles, inviting authors, planning focus issues and promoting the journal.

Both awards are given at the STAM Annual Reception at the Editorial Board Meeting, and the recipients are invited to the ceremony to give a presentation.

STAM also presents the STAM Young Scientist Award to young material science researchers for their excellent presentations at academic meetings.

Best Paper Award

2018: Formation of metal clusters in halloysite clay nanotubes, Vladimir A. Vinokurov, Anna V. Stavitskaya, Yaroslav A. Chudakov, Evgenii V. Ivanov, Lok Kumar Shrestha, Katsuhiko Ariga, Yusuf A. Darrat & Yuri M. Lvov
Recent progress on magnetic iron oxide nanoparticles: synthesis, surface functional strategies and biomedical applications, Wei Wu, Zhaohui Wu, Taekyung Yu, Changzhong Jiang & Woo-Sik Kim
Recent progress of high performance polymer OLED and OPV materials for organic printed electronics, Chizu Sekine, Yoshiaki Tsubata, Takeshi Yamada, Makoto Kitano & Shuji Doi
Dispersion and surface functionalization of oxide nanoparticles for transparent photocatalytic and UV-protecting coatings and sunscreens, Bertrand Faure, German Salazar-Alvarez, Anwar Ahniyaz, Irune Villaluenga, Gemma Berriozabal, Yolanda R De Miguel & Lennart Bergström
The first bulk nanostructured metal, H K D H Bhadeshia
Recent progress in mesoporous titania materials: adjusting morphology for innovative applications, Juan L Vivero-Escoto, Ya-Dong Chiang, Kevin Wu & Yusuke Yamauchi
Point defects in ZnO: an approach from first principles, Fumiyasu Oba, Minseok Choi, Atsushi Togo & Isao Tanaka
Present status of amorphous In–Ga–Zn–O thin-film transistors, Toshio Kamiya, Kenji Nomura & Hideo Hosono
2011: None awarded
Challenges and breakthroughs in recent research on self-assembly, Katsuhiko Ariga, Jonathan P Hill, Michael V Lee, Ajayan Vinu, Richard Charvet & Somobrata Acharya


Best Contribution Award

2018: Dr. Roland Hany (STAM Deputy Editor), Empa, Switzerland
Professor Katsuhiko Ariga (STAM Associate Editor), NIMS, Japan
None awarded
2015: None awarded
2014: None awarded
2013: Professor Fatih Dogan (STAM Associate Editor), Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA
Professor Yoshio Sakka (STAM Co-Editor), NIMS, Japan
None awarded
2010: Professor Toyonobu Yoshida (STAM Associate Editor), The University of Tokyo, Japan; Dr Takaho Tanaka (STAM Editorial Consultant), NIMS, Japan


Altmetric Award

2017: Cytocompatible and multifunctional polymeric nanoparticles for transportation of bioactive molecules into and within cellsKazuhiko Ishihara, Weixin Chen, Yihua Liu, Yuriko Tsukamoto & Yuuki Inoue
The chemical, mechanical, and physical properties of 3D printed materials composed of TiO2-ABS nanocomposites, Matthew R. Skorski, Jake M. Esenther, Zeeshan Ahmed, Abigail E. Miller & Matthew R. Hartings

Young Scientist Award

2018: Siqi Yin, Tsinghua University, China; Shoichi Nishitani,The University of Tokyo, Japan; Sangbong Lee, Seoul National University, South Korea