We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Best Paper Award

Geographical Review

About the prize

Since 2016, all articles published within a volume year – including articles in special features – are eligible for the annual Best Paper Award. The winner is selected by the members of the Geographical Review editorial board, and notified by January of the following year. The prize is given at the American Association of Geographers Annual Conference.

You can browse all the winning articles below.

If you have any questions, please contact Dave Kaplan: [email protected].


Geographical Review

Language: en-US

Publisher: tandf

Visit Journal

Submissions Information

One of the world's leading scholarly periodicals devoted exclusively to geography, the Geographical Review contains original and authoritative articles on all aspects of geography. Geographical Review also includes special features, forum articles, and special review articles commissioned by the editor. Each issue includes reviews of recent books, monographs, and atlases in geography and related fields.

Manuscripts should be prepared according to the Geographical Review Instructions for Authors and submitted through the Online Submissions System. All submitted manuscripts will undergo peer review prior to a decision on publication. 

Submit your Manuscript


Year Author(s) Article Volume Issue
2018 Christian Abizaid Oliver T. Coomes Yoshito Takasaki J. Pablo Arroyo‐Mora Rural Social Networks along Amazonian Rivers: Seeds, Labor and Soccer among Communities on the Napo River, Peru 108 1
2017 Antonio Ioris Places of Agribusiness: Displacement, Replacement, and Misplacement in Mato Grosso, Brazil† 107 3
2017 - Honorable Mention Patricia Solis, Jennifer Vanos, and Robert Forbis Jr The Decision-Making/Accountability Spatial Incongruence Problem for Research Linking Environmental Science and Policy 107 4
2016 Rebecca M. Torres and Lindsey Carte Migration and Development? The Gendered Costs of Migration on Mexico's Rural “Left Behind” 106 3

The latest from Taylor & Francis Research Insights