We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

The James Clerk Maxwell Writers Prize

About the prize

The Editors of Philosophical Magazine and Philosophical Magazine Letters are proud to announce, in partnership with the James Clerk Maxwell Foundation, the award of the James Clerk Maxwell Writers Prize, which is awarded annually to a talented researcher published in either of the journals. Congratulations to the 2017 winner of the prize – Sebastian Widmann.

Enjoy free access to 2017 winning, runner-up, and honourable mention research, and browse all winning research by year below.

2018 WinnerSebastian RitterbexOn low temperature glide of dissociated dislocations in strontium titanate9815
2018 Runner UpSumit BahlEstablishing the microstructure-strengthening correlation in severely deformed surface of titanium 9823
2018 - Runner UpElisabeth HenggeQuantitative volumetric identification of precipitates in dilute alloys using high-precision isothermal dilatometry987
2017 - WinnerS. Widmann et al
On the multiferroic skyrmion-host GaV4S89736
2017 - Runner UpN. Haghdadi et al
The austenite microstructure evolution in a duplex stainless steel subjected to hot deformation9715
2017 - 2nd Runner UpVarun A. Baheti et al
Effect of Ni on growth kinetics, microstructural evolution and crystal structure in the Cu(Ni)–Sn system9721
2016 - WinnerR. B. Sills & W. Cai
Solute drag on perfect and extended dislocations9610
2016 - Runner UpRyan Soklaski, Vy Tran, Zohar Nussinov, K. F. Kelton & Li YangA locally preferred structure characterises all dynamical regimes of a supercooled liquid9612
2016 - Honorable MentionAmol Vuppuluri & Srikanth Vedantam
Grain growth rate for coupled grain boundary migration and grain rotation in nanocrystalline materials969
2016 - Honorable MentionYu Zou, Jeffrey M. Wheeler, Alla S. Sologubenko, Johann Michler, Walter Steurer & Ralph Spolenak
Bridging room-temperature and high-temperature plasticity in decagonal Al–Ni–Co quasicrystals by micro-thermomechanical testing9632-34
2015 - WinnerM. Fourmeau, C. D. Marioara, T. Børvik, A. Benallal & O. S. Hopperstad
A study of the influence of precipitate-free zones on the strain localization and failure of the aluminium alloy AA7075-T6519528-30
2015 - Highly CommendedRobbert Jan Dikken, Erik Van der Giessen & Lucia Nicola
Plastic shear response of a single asperity: a discrete dislocation plasticity analysis9534
2015 - Highly CommendedB. Kombaiah & K. Linga Murty
High temperature creep and deformation microstructures in recrystallized Zircaloy-49515
2015 - Highly CommendedSigurd Wenner, Jesper Friis, Calin D. Marioara, Sigmund J. Andersen & Randi Holmestad
Structural modifications and electron beam damage in aluminium alloy precipitate θ'–AL29531
2015 - Highly CommendedSteven J. Lainé & Kevin M. Knowles
{11¯24} deformation twinning in commercial purity titanium at room temperature9520
2014 - WinnerP. Kotetes, A. Aperis & G. Varelogiannis
Magnetic-field-induced chiral hidden order in URu2Si29432-33
2014 - Runner UpAyan Bhowmik et al.
Microstructure and mechanical properties of Cr–Ta–Si Laves phase-based alloys at elevated temperatures9434
2014 - Highly CommendedSreedevi Varam et al.
Strain rate sensitivity of bulk multi-phase nanocrystalline Al–W-based alloy949
2013 - WinnerNiaz Abdolrahim et al.
The mechanical response of core-shell structures for nanoporous metallic materials937
2013 - Highly CommenedE.G. Fu et al.
Fluence-dependent radiation damage in helium (He) ion-irradiated Cu/V multilayers938
2013 - Highly CommendedSina Shahandeh & Matthias Militzer
Grain boundary curvature and grain growth kinetics with particle pinning9324
2012 - WinnerKeith T. Chan et al.
Controlled growth behavior of chemical vapor deposited Ni nanostructures9217
2012 - Highly CommendedV.A. Vorontsov et al.
Shearing of γ′ precipitates in Ni-base superalloys: a phase field study incorporating the effective γ-surface925
2012 - Highly CommendedSai Ramudu Meka et al.
Unusual nucleation and growth of γ′ iron nitride upon nitriding Fe–4.75 at.% Al alloy929
2011 - WinnerS. Patala & C.A. Schuh
The topology of homophase misorientation spaces9110
2011 -Highly CommendedDenis Anders et al.
Application of operator-scaling anisotropic random fields to binary mixtures9129
2010 - WinnerJ.J. Rimoli & M. Ortiz
A three-dimensional multiscale model of intergranular hydrogen-assisted cracking9021
2010 -Highly CommendedHaneesh Kesari et al.
Role of surface roughness in hysteresis during adhesive elastic contact9012
2010 -Highly CommendedTanmay K. Bhandakkar et al.
Analytical model of transient compressive stress evolution during growth of high diffusivity thin films on substrates9022
2010 -Highly CommendedNing Zhou et al.
Large-scale three-dimensional phase field simulation of γ ′-rafting and creep deformation901-4
2009 - WinnerG. Bonny et al.
Fitting interatomic potentials consistent with thermodynamics: Fe, Cu, Ni and their alloys8934-36
2009 - Highly Commended I.A. Figueroa et al.
High glass formability for Cu–Hf–Ti alloys with small additions of Y and Si8927
2009 - Highly Commended Réka Trencsényi et al.
Correlation and confinement induced itinerant ferromagnetism in chain structures8922-24
2009 - Highly Commended T. Xu & M. Li
Topological and statistical properties of a constrained Voronoi tessellation894
2008 - WinnerA.L. Koh et al.
Preparation, structural and magnetic characterization of synthetic anti-ferromagnetic (SAF) nanoparticles8836
2008 - Runner UpM. Q. Jiang et al.
Energy dissipation in fracture of bulk metallic glasses via inherent competition between local softening and quasi-cleavage883
2008 - 2nd Runner Up E. Carrasco et al.
Dislocation emission at the onset of plasticity during nanoindentation in gold883

Latest Tweets