2024 Arthur C. Stern Award for Distinguished JA&WMA Paper – Call for Nominations

Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association


About the prize

Established in 2013, the Arthur C. Stern Award is given annually to an author (or authors) for an outstanding contribution to the Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association (JA&WMA) in the fields of air and waste management. The award is based on the publication of a paper in JA&WMA that has greatly advanced science and technology; is technical, scientific, or management in nature, while advancing the mission of JA&WMA; and is considered to be a substantial contribution toward improving our understanding of air pollution and waste management problems, their impact on environment and health, and the use of sustainable practices in reducing our environmental footprint. The award is open to both members and nonmembers of the Association. Critical Review papers and discussion papers published in JA&WMA are not eligible for this award. A small cash prize is included as part of the award.

Arthur C. Stern (1909–1992) was a long-time member and past president of the Air Pollution Control Association (APCA), a forerunner of A&WMA. He made major contributions to JA&WMA and his books on air pollution control are well-known nationally and internationally.

Nomination Procedure:

The nominator should summarize the significant methods and findings of the paper, demonstrating the impact and importance of the paper in the air pollution or waste management fields, and submit the nomination package to the attention of the Committee Chair, Dr. Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr. (JA&WMA Editor-in-Chief), at [email protected]. Nomination deadline for the 2024 Award is December 31, 2023. The winner will be announced in early 2023. Self-nominations will not be considered.

Committee Members:

Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr. (Chair), JA&WMA Editor-in-Chief, David Chock, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute Judith Chow, Desert Research Institute, George M. Hidy, Envair, Thomas Overcamp, Clemson University.

Complete award details and nomination procedures are available online at https://www.awma.org/content.asp?admin=Y&contentid=202.

        Find the latest posts from @tandfenviro