We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

The Short List

Bob Franklin Journal Article Award for best article published in Digital Journalism, Journalism Practice and Journalism Studies

About the prize


The short list for the Bob Franklin Journal Article Award for best article published in Digital JournalismJournalism Practice and Journalism Studies is below. Each article is accompanied by a detailed commentary from the selection committee, and all three articles are free to read until 30 April 2019.

2017Jeffrey Kuiken, Anne Schuth, Martijn Spitters & Maarten Marx

Digital JournalismEffective Headlines of Newspaper Articles in a Digital Environment510
2017Laura Ahva

Journalism PracticeHow Is Participation Practiced by “In-Betweeners” of Journalism?112-3
2017Tony Harcup & Deirdre O’NeillJournalism Studies What is News?1812

The Final Decision

In addition to Professor Bob Franklin, the membership of the Awarding Panel is:

  • Professor Kaori Hayashi, Professor of Media and Journalism Studies, the University of Tokyo
  • Professor Seth Lewis, Shirley Pape Chair in Emerging Media, University of Oregon
  • Professor Jane Singer, Director of Research and Professor of Innovation Journalism, City University of London
  • Professor Herman Wasserman, Professor of Media Studies and Director of the Centre for Film and Media Studies, the University of Cape Town

The winning article will be announced in October 2018.